‘Providers willing to share’

In the past few weeks I have been writing a lot about the relationship between the mental health customer and those who provide the service. This a great example of straddling both worlds. Thank you Dr. Bart Andrews for sharing your story. Glad to have “met” you on Twitter and looking forward to more great interactions.

What happens now?

This week’s post is by Bart Andrews, a psychologist and the vice president of clinical operations at Behavioral Health Response. He was inspired by the recently released report “The Way Forward” to tell his story. He also wrote his own intro: “He believes that while not every provider with this experience will reach a point where he or she can safely tell their story, it is crucial that more providers speak up to reduce the tremendous prejudice and discrimination that WE have created around mental illness and suicide:”

I am an alcoholic.  I am an addict.  I am a suicide attempt survivor.  Three declarative sentences comprising 14 words.  They weigh heavily on me but not as heavily as they did before I wrote them.

It has taken me 16 years to openly disclose these facts.  And I am much more than these statements.  My life is rich, diverse and…

View original post 1,248 more words

Please share your thoughts...

